National Anthem at Verizon Center

The View From Seat 8 Section 405

You hear the phrase living the dream and I can’t think of a better way to describe how it feels to have the ability to go to every Capitals home hockey game this season.  I didn’t think It would be much different having season tickets this year versus going to 10 games a year in previous years, but man was I wrong. It has been a real treat getting to know the people in my section and the staff at the Verizon Center.

The staff remembers my name, my drink order, even the things we talked about last game. These things didn’t happen with ten games a year.  I don’t know if they have more practice with both the Wizards and the Capitals but in my opinion the staff around us is the best in DC.

I can’t speak for everyone in the arena or even all of the season ticket holders but there is a ton of loyalty in 405.  Certainly I am not talking about an original six team because there is lots of room to grow. These are the type of people you want to build a hockeytown, Cheering for great defense, penalty kills, former player announcements (well the ones we liked) and many other little things that deserve applause.  Now there are the occasional new fans, typical out of townees, that will leave games early, take seats during play, scoot way to far up in their seats, but these people are everywhere.  The difference in 405 is the people help you out and calmly express how to do it the right way.  Other places you will hear DOWN IN FRONT, or other obscenities (looking at you Philly).  I have sat on every level and almost every section of the VZC and I wouldn’t have it any other way than 405 (except maybe an aisle seat).  I’m curious though, how has anybody else felt in my section or even in Verizon center?

This has been a dream of mine for 90% of my life to have season tickets in DC and I’m glad I worked hard to get what I have today. I’m truly blessed/lucky/honored to be able to be apart of this game.

Leave a Reply

